Sexism or self confidence?

This is the post by @snefatie originally published on Instagram.

I’m going to take this opportunity to talk about something that’s been on my mind. The topic is the difference between over-sexualizing oneself and women who exude their independence through body confidence.

It was brought to my attention that there were some women who made some comments that I was overly sexed in my triathlon singlets. I can see where they were coming from as tri clothes don’t leave much to the imagination. They are designed to make you as aero as possible which means: tight fit and less is more. Here’s where the difference between sexualizing myself and wearing my skin proud come into play. I identify as both a tomboy and a glam girl. My identity has always caused a bit of a divide when I would try and fit the mold with women who are either one or the other. In my experience, neither energy is accepting of the other.

I am also the byproduct of a Sicilian father and a beautiful Italian mother, aka I have been “curvy” since I was a teen. Ask any of my friends and they will tell you how unaccepting I was of my curves growing up. It wasn’t until my early 20’s that I started to realize how beautiful they are. I’ve come a long way since then and now I wear my Italian skin proud! I will be damned if I have to hide my curves just to appeal to a certain , small, demographic of people. Yes, my body fits in a tri singlet differently than most athletic women, but that doesn’t mean I’m any less of an athlete. In fact, its rather sexist to think that I’m sexualizing myself just because of the way my body looks in clothes. This is just me, owning my badass, strong, athletic, womanly figure, that’s capable of doing epic races and feeling good in triathlon/cycling gear.

You see, my friends, we were all designed differently for a purpose, no one person is less beautiful than the other. We all deserve to live an authentic and fruitful life by allowing our individual beauty to shine. Like I’ve said before, OWN THAT SHIT, and never allow someone else’s insecurities to dim your light. No matter your shape, size, sexual orientation, ethnicity – you were created in God’s image. You are perfect.✌

Follow her blog www.stephaniedesanti.com

Leave a Reply

